Shooting Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Angad Vir Singh Bajwa wins gold in Men’s Skeet at 8th Asian Shotgun Championship

Angad Vir Singh Bajwa won gold medal by setting world record score in men’s skeet final of the 8th Asian Shotgun Championship held in Kuwait. With this, he became first Indian skeet shooter to win continental or world level event. In the final round of this event, Angad shot perfect 60 out of 60 to claim top spot ahead of China’s Di Jin who shot 58, winning silver medal. UAE’s Saeed Al Maktoum won bronze with a score of 46.

10m rifle mixed event

India’s pair of Elavenil Valarivan and Hriday Hazarika won gold medal in this event. In 45-shot final of this event, they scored 502.1, setting world and Asian Junior record in the event. Chinese pair Shi Mengyao and Wang Yuefeng won silver medal with 500.9. India’s another pair Mehuli Ghosh and Arjun Babuta won bronze in the same event with a score of 436.9.

Month: Categories: Sports


Rahi Sarnobat becomes first Indian woman shooter to win gold medal at 2018 Asian Games

Rahi Sarnobat became first Indian woman to win shooting gold medal at Jakarta-Palembang 2018 Asian Games in 25m pistol event. She shot score of 34 in final to tie with Thailand’s Naphaswan Yangpaiboon who won silver medal and Kim Minjung of South Korea won bronze with score of 29. It was Rahi’s biggest medal of her shooting career.

Rahi Sarnobat

She hails from Kolhapur, Maharashtra. She was first Indian pistol shooter to win gold medal in Shooting World Cup (25m pistol event in the ISSF World cup in Changwon, China). She had won her first gold medal at 2008 Commonwealth Youth Games in Pune, India. She was first Indian shooter to qualify for 25 meters sports pistol event in the Olympics (London Olympics in 2012).

Medals won

Gold: 2014 Glasgow Commonwealth Games (women’s 25-metre pistol).

Bronze: 2014 Incheon Asian Games (25-metre pistol team event). She had teamed with Anisa Sayyed and Heena Sidhu.

Month: Categories: States