Speaker Current Affairs

V. Vaithilingam elected as Speaker of Puducherry Assembly

Congress leader and former Chief Minister V. Vaithilingam was elected unopposed as the Speaker of the 14th Puducherry legislative Assembly.

Besides, pro-tem Speaker VP Shivakozhuthu was declared elected unopposed as the Deputy Speaker.

V. Vaithilingam had served Chief Minister of the Union Territory twice. For first time he was in office from 1991 to 1996 and for second time again from 2008-2011. He was the second youngest Chief Minister and the first Chief Minister of Puducherry to serve the full five-year term till date.

Earlier in May 2016, Congress-DMK alliance had emerged victorious in 2016general elections. The alliance had won 17 seats (Congress: 15; DMK:2) in the 30 member Territorial Assembly.


Vijay Kumar Choudhary elected as Bihar assembly Speaker

Senior Janta Dal United (JDU) leader Vijay Kumar Chaudhary has been elected as new Speaker of Bihar legislative assembly.

The pro-tem Speaker and Congress MLA Sadanand Singh had announced election of Mr. Chaudhary as the new Speaker.

He was elected unanimously after all parties supported his candidature including main opposition Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP).

Mr.Chaudhary is a five time MLA and represents Sarai Ranjan assembly constituency of Samastipur district and is a close associate of Chief Minister Nitish Kumar

Previously in Bihar Legislative Assembly, he had severed as JDU Leader of Legislature Party. He also had served as the Minister for Water Resources, Agriculture and Information & Public Relations Departments in the cabinet under Nitish Kumar.

During his stint as a legislator from 1982 to 1995, he had served as the Deputy Chairman of Bihar State Industrial Development Corporation (BSIDC).