States Current Affairs - 2020

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Bill to merge UTs Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu

The Government of India has planned to merge the Union Territories Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu. The bill regarding the merging of the territories is to be tabled in Lok Sabha on November 29, 2019.


The Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (Merger of Union Territories) Bill 2019 is being introduced for better administration and to check on duplications of various works. Though the territories are 35 km apart, they have had separate budgets and different secretariats.

The merged territory will be named Dadra, Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu. The headquarters of the territory is to be located in Daman and Diu.

With the creation of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh, there are nine UTs in India. With the new merger, the count will come down to eight.

Constitutional provisions

Article 3 of Indian Constitution provides insights into formation of new states and Union Territories. It includes increase in area, diminishing the area and altering the boundaries. The article allows the parliament to legislate on state formation.

The bills on state formation can be introduced in either of the houses. However, President’s assent on the bill is required before introduction.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

State Formation Day celebrated by Several States

Eight Indian States namely Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Kerala, Chattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Punjab, Haryana and Madhya Pradesh celebrated their formation day in November 1, 2019. PM Modi and President Ram Nath Kovind and several other leaders wished the states for their prosperity.

The day is celebrated as “Rajyotsav” by the state of Karnataka every year.

There are 28 states and 9 Union Territories in India as on November 2, 2019.


Kerala was created on November 1, 1956. Prior to its formation it was three independent provinces namely Malabar, Travancore and Cochin. It got its name from its first ruler Keralian Thamboran.


The state of Chattisgarh was carved out of Madhya Pradesh on November 1, 2000. It is the 10th largest state in India. The step was taken for easy administration and also to reduce naxalism in the region. There are about 25 million people living in Chattisgarh.


The state of Haryana was carved out of Punjab on November 1, 1966. The state was a boon to the country as it led the Green Revolution movement in terms of crop output.


The movement led by the Akali Dal resulted in the formation of Punjabi-majority Punjab state, Union Territory of Chandigarh and Haryanvi-Hindi majority Haryana state. The formation of the state dates back to the Punjabi suba movement in the 1950s

Madhya Pradesh

The State of Madhya Pradesh was formed on November 1, 1956. It is the second largest state of India in terms of area and is the sixth largest populous state.

Tamil Nadu

For the first time since its formation Tamil Nadu is celebrating its formation day. It was formed based on the Linguistic Reorganization of States in 1956.

Odisha was the first state to be formed on linguistic basis.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App