Subramanian Swamy Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Subramanian Swamy awarded Tamil Ratna award

Senior BJP leader and Rajya Sabha MP Subramanian Swamy has been honoured with Tamil Ratna award by America Tamil Sangam (ATS) in New York.

He was bestowed with this award for fighting corruption and working for more transparency in the functioning of the government.

About Subramanian Swamy

  • Subramanian Swamy is politician and economist who is presently serving as a member of the Rajya Sabha.
  • As an economist, he had served as a member of the erstwhile Planning Commission. He was a Cabinet Minister in the Chandra Shekhar government from 1990 to 1991.
  • In 1978, he had served member of the Group of Eminent persons which had prepared a report of UN Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) on Economic Co-operation between Developing countries (ECDC).
  • In 1994, former Prime Minister P. V. Narasimha Rao had appointed him as Chairman of the Commission on Labour Standards and International Trade.
  • He was the President and founder of the Janata Party until it was merged on with Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Some of the previous recipients of Tamil Ratna Award include, music composer AR Rahman, Bharatha Natyam exponent Kamala Lakshman, Tamil movie director Bharathi Raja and mathematician Srinivasa Varadhan.

Month: Categories: AwardsPersons in News


President nominates 6 eminent members to Rajya Sabha

President Pranab Mukherjee has nominated of six eminent members to Rajya Sabha as per the provisions of Article 80 of the Constitution.

These nominated members are

  • Mary Kom: Legendary boxer and Olympic bronze medallist. She belongs to the Sino-Tibetan speaking Kom tribe of Manipur. She is five-time World Amateur Boxing champion, and the only woman boxer to have won a medal in each one of the six world championships. In 2014, she became the first Indian woman boxer to get a gold medal in the Asian Games in Incheon, South Korea.
  • Narendra Jadhav: He is renowned economist and former member of the erstwhile National Advisory Council (2010-14) and Planning Commission (2009-14). He is also the former vice-chancellor of Pune University.
  • Suresh Gopi: He is Malayalam actor and had acted in over 200 films. He is a winner of the National Film Award and Filmfare Award.
  • Swapan Dasgupta: He is journalist by profession. He had worked at senior editorial positions in various publications including The Indian Express, India Today and The Times of India.
  • Subramanian Swamy: He is BJP leader and was elected to the Lok Sabha in 1977, 1980 and 1988, and to the Rajya Sabha in 1974 and 1998.
  • Navjot Singh Sidhu: He is cricketer-turned-politician and former two time member of Lok Sabha.

Nomination of eminent members to Rajya Sabha

  • As per Article 80 (Part V) of the Constitution, President can nominate 12 members in the Council of States (Rajya Sabha).
  • These persons should have special knowledge or practical experience in the field of Art, Science, Literature and Social Service.
  • The rationale behind the principle of the nomination is to facilitate the representation of eminent professionals and experts who cannot face direct elections.

Month: Categories: NationalPersons in News