Swadesh Darshan Scheme Current Affairs

Government of create five special tourism zones to boost tourism: Budget 2017-18

The Union Budget 2017-18 has announced that Government will set up five Special Tourism Zones in partnership with States.

These five special zones will be anchored as Special Purpose Vehicles (SPVs) that will be set up in partnership with the States. In this budget, government has allocated Rs. 1,840.77 crore to the Tourism Ministry, Rs. 250 crore more in the 2017-18 fiscal.

Other tourism related announcements in Budget
  • To boost the image of India in the international travel market Incredible India 2.0 Campaign will be unveiled across the world the financial year 2017-18.
  • 959.91 crore has been allocated for the Integrated Development of Tourist Circuits around specific themes under Swadesh Darshan scheme.
  • 100 crore has been allocated for Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive (PRASAD). Rs. 412 crore provided for promotion and publicity of various programmes and schemes.
  • Besides, Government has asked the Railways to start dedicated trains for tourism and pilgrimage purposes.

Swadesh Darshan Scheme: Under it, 13 thematic circuits have been identified for development, namely North-East India Circuit, Buddhist Circuit, Himalayan Circuit, Coastal Circuit, Krishna Circuit, Desert Circuit, Tribal Circuit, Eco Circuit, Wildlife Circuit, Rural Circuit, Spiritual Circuit, Ramayana Circuit and Heritage Circuit.

PRASAD Scheme: Under it, 13 cities Ajmer, Amritsar, Amravati, Dwarka, Gaya, Kamakhaya, Kancheepuram, Kedarnath, Mathura, Patna, Puri, Varanasi and Velankanni have been identified for development.


Union Government approves 500 crore rupee projects for development of tourism in Jammu and Kashmir

The Union Ministry of Tourism has approved projects worth 500 crore rupees for integrated development of tourism in Jammu and Kashmir under Swadesh Darshan scheme.

The projects were approved by Central Sanctioning and Monitoring Committee for the scheme as part of Development Package of Prime Minister Reconstruction Plan.

Key Facts

  • The new projects are envisaged at tourist infrastructural development in Jammu and Kashmir.
  • They include Baramulla-Kupwara-Leh, Mantalai – Sudhmahadev – Patnitop Circuit, Rajouri – Bafliyaz – Shopian – Pulwama Circuit and Anantnag-Kishtwar- Pahalgam – Daksum – Ranjit Sagar Dam Circuit.
  • The projects also involve developing a Convention Centre in Gulmarg and Patnitop, development of Ethnic Villages, Development of Water Sports Centre at Baghliyar Dam – Pool Doda.
  • Nearly 100 crore rupees have been approved for integrated development of tourist facilities in lieu of damaged assets in the September 2014 floods.
  • Other major interventions proposed in the circuits include last mile connectivity, tourist facilitation and interpretation centre, base camps for trekking.
  • Besides it will also facilitation centre for pilgrims for Amarnath Yatra, Sound and Light Show at Shalimar Bag, illumination of heritage structures, provision of eco friendly vehicles.