Tennis Current Affairs

2018 US Open: Novak Djokovic wins men’s singles title

Former world number one Novak Djokovic from Serbia won 2018 US Open title of tennis in men’s singles category by defeating Argentina’s Juan Martín del Potro (world no 3).  It was Djokovic’s third US Open title and overall 14th Grand Slam title. With this win, he equalled Pete Sampras’ haul of 14 Grand Slams. Further, he became seventh man to win US Open singles title at least thrice in the Open Era.

2018 US Open Winners

Women’s singles title: It was won by Japan’s Naomi Osaka by defeating Serena Williams of US by score of 6-2, 6-4 in the finals.

Men’s Double title: It was won by US pair of Mike Bryan and Jack Sock. They defeated Łukasz Kubot (Poland) and Marcelo Melo (Brazil) by 6–3, 6–1 scrore.

Women’s Doubles title: It was won by Ashleigh Barty (Australia) and CoCo Vandeweghe (US). They defeated Tímea Babos (Hungary) and Kristina Mladenovic (France) pair by 3–6, 7–6(7–2), 7–6(8–6).

Mixed Doubles title: It was won by Jamie Murray (UK) and Bethanie Mattek-Sands (US). They defeated Alicja Rosolska (Poland) and Nikola Mektić (Croatia) pair by 2–6, 6–3, [11–9] score.

2018 US Open

It was the 138th edition of tennis’ US Open held on outdoor hard courts at USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in New York City. It was fourth and final Grand Slam event of the year. Rafael Nadal and Sloane Stephens were defending champions in the men’s and women’s singles events, but they were unsuccessful to defend their titles in this edition of tournament.

Month: Categories: Sports Current Affairs 2018


Rohan Bopanna, Divij Sharan win gold medal in Men’s Doubles tennis at 2018 Asian Games

Indian tennis pair of Rohan Bopanna and Divij Sharan won gold medal in Men’s Doubles tennis at 2018 Asian Games. In the final match, they defeated Kazakhstan’s Aleksandar Bublik and Denis Yevseyv pair by 6-3, 6-4 score in a match that lasted 52 minutes. Earlier in semi-final, Rohan Bopanna and Sharan had won against Japan’s Kaito Uesugi and Sho Shimabukoro by 4-6, 6-3, 10-8 score in three-set match which lasted for 72 minutes.

2018 Asian Games

It is 18th edition of Asian Games hosted by Indonesia. It was held from August 18 to September 2, 2018 in two cities – Jakarta (capital of Indonesia) and Palembang (capital of Indonesia’s province of South Sumatra). It is second time Indonesia hosting Asian Games. For first, it was held in Jakarta in 1962.

Mascots: Trio of Bhin Bhin (bird of paradise), Kaka (one horned rhino) and Atung (deer) are mascots of 2018 Asian Games. These three mascots represent east, west and centre of country and they have dress traditional to each locality.

Month: Categories: Sports Current Affairs 2018