Tennis Records Current Affairs - 2020

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

Australian Open: Novak Djokovic won the title for the eighth time

The Serbian Player Novak Djokovic captured the Australian Open Title of 2020 in Men’s single. Sofia Kenin won Women’s singles at the tournament. Rajeev Ram teamed up with Joe Salisbury won the Men’s doubles.

Australia Open

The Australia Open 2020 was held at Melbourne. It is the first of the four Grand Slam tennis tournaments held every year. The other 3 Grand Slams include Wimbledon, French Open and US open. So far Australian Open has been conducted in 5 cities namely Melbourne, Adelaide, Sydney, Perth and Sydney. In 1906, it was conducted at the New Zealand city Christchurch and in 1912 at Hastings.

The Australian Open was first held in 1905. The nick name of Grand Slam is “Happy Slam”.

Grand Slam

The Grand Slam title offers most ranking points. The Australian Open is held in January, French Open in May-June, Wimbledon in June-July and US Open in August-September. The Grand Slam tournaments are operated by the International Tennis Federation.

International Tennis Federation

It was founded in 1913. It maintains rules of tennis and regulates international tournaments. It also preserved sports integrity conducting anti-doping and anti-corruption programmes.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App

Sania Mirza, Martina Hingis win 2016 WTA Apia International title of Tennis

Ace Indian tennis player Sania Mirza and her Swiss partner Martina Hingis have won the 2016 WTA Apia International title in the women’s doubles category.

In the final match played at Sydney (Australia), the top seeded duo defeated French pair Caroline Garcia and Kristina Mladenovic by 1–6, 7–5, [10–5] score.

Key facts

  • It was their overall 11th title together from 2015 when they had won 9 titles and second title of season 2016. It was also their 30th match win together in a row.
  • 11 WTA doubles titles are: Indian Wells, Miami, Charleston, Wimbledon, US Open, Guangzhou, Wuhan, Beijing and the WTA Finals, Brisbane (2016) and Sydney (2016).
  • Record: Their consecutive 30-match winning streak together also created world record. They broke previous record held by Gigi Fernandez (Puerto Rico) and Natasha Zvereva (Belarus) who had notched up 28 straight victories in 1994.

Women’s Single Title

  • Svetlana Kuznetsova (Russia) has won the 2016 WTA Apia International title in the Women’s Singles Category. In the final match she defeated Mónica Puig of Puerto Rico by 6–0, 6–2 score.

Get these updates on Current Affairs Today Android App