Transport and Highways Current Affairs - 2020

J Jayalalithaa launches first phase of Chennai Metro

First phase of Chennai Metro service was inaugurated by Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa after she flagged off inaugural train.

The first phase of Metro service covers the 10-km overhead (elevated) stretch. It connects Alandur in south Chennai to Koyabedu in the north.

The metro service will bear capacity of 1276 passengers with four coaches. It will cover seven stations in the stretch. They are Koyambedu, Arumbakkam, Vadapalani, Chennai Mofussil Bus Terminus, Ashok Nagar, Ekkattuthangal.

The Corridor 2 or second phase of this metro connecting Chennai Central and St. Thomas Mount is will be ready by end 2015. The whole project is implemented by Chennai Metro Rail Limited (CMRL). It was approved by then Congress-led UPA government in 2009.

With launching of this Metro service, Chennai became seventh city in India to have metro service. Other 6 cities are Delhi, Mumbai, Gurgaon, Bangalore, Kolkata and Jaipur.

Jaipur Metro’s Phase-1 inaugurated by Rajasthan CM Vasundhara Raje

Jaipur Metro’s Phase-1 was inaugurated by Rajasthan Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje by flagging off the inaugural train.

Phase 1 of Pink City’s Metro covers 9.6 km long route from Mansarovar to Chandpole with nine metro stations.

The phase 1 of Jaipur Metro was completed in record four-and-a-half-years making it one of the fastest-built rail metros in India with cost of 2,023 crore rupees.

Facts about Jaipur Metro’s Phase-1

  • Developed by Jaipur Metro Rail Corporation Ltd (JMRCL), a wholly owned subsidiary of Rajasthan Government.
  • Will provide an affordable and reliable public transport system to people and help to spur economic development of the city.
  • Up to 30 percent of metro’s operation and maintenance staff, including train operators and station controllers are women.
  • Stations are equipped with automatic fare collection system to collect and manage the fare revenue.

With this, Jaipur became the sixth city in India to have metro service. Other five cities are Delhi, Mumbai, Gurgaon, Bangalore, and Kolkata.

It should be noted that, in initial stages for effective execution of the project the Phase-1 work was divided into two parts viz Phase-1A and Phase-1B.

The phase 1A is from Mansarovar to Chandpole has been started with this inauguration while work on phase 1B from Chandpole to Badi Chaupad is underway.