United States Current Affairs

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

7 people including late singer Elvis Presley awarded Presidential Medal of Freedom

United States President Donald Trump will present 7 distinguished individuals including late singer Elvis Presley 2018 Presidential Medal of Freedom on November 16, 2018.

These seven awardees includes three posthumous recipients- Music legend Elvis Presley, baseball great Babe Ruth and late Supreme Court justice Antonin Scalia. Other four are  philanthropist and heavyweight political donor Miriam Adelson and two football Hall of Famers- quarterback Roger Staubach and defensive tackle Alan Page, who later became first African American to serve on Minnesota Supreme Court.

About Presidential Medal of Freedom

It is United States’ highest civilian award. It is awarded to individuals with exceptional meritorious service to security or national interests of US, world peace, cultural or other significant public or private endeavors. It was established in 1945 by President Truman, to recognize notable service in war. In 1963, President Kennedy reintroduced it as an honor for distinguished civilian service in peacetime. Majority of awardees are US citizens, but individuals from other countries are also eligible.

Month: Categories: Awards Current Affairs 2018


US-based Dalit writer Sujatha Gidla wins 2018 Shakti Bhatt Prize

US-based Dalit writer Sujatha Gidla (55) has won 2018 Shakti Bhatt First Book Prize for her debut book “Ants Among Elephants: An Untouchable Family and the Making of Modern India”. Her book was shortlisted by award panel from of other six contestants. It takes readers through four generations of her family at centre and mainly her uncle K G Satyamurthy, a Maoist leader who founded Left-wing guerrilla movement called People’s War Group to overthrow Indian state. It also showcases undramatised lives of poverty, patriarchy, and rebellion, and encounter with subaltern Communism.

Shakti Bhatt First Book Prize

The Shakti Bhatt First Book Prize is funded by the Shakti Bhatt Foundation. It was set up in 2008 in memory of young writer and editor Shakti Bhatti. It honours first-time writers from Indian sub-continent for their outstanding work of fiction or non-fiction. It carries cash prize of Rs. 2 lakh. Sri Lankan author Anuk Arudpragasam had won the prize in 2017 for his debut novel “The Story of a Brief Marriage” set in the backdrop of the civil war

Month: Categories: India Current Affairs 2018