UNSECO Current Affairs

3 May: World Press Freedom Day

May 3 is celebrated as World Press Freedom Day every year to celebrate fundamental principles of press freedom as well as to evaluate freedom of press around the world. It serves as occasion to defend media from attacks on their independence and to pay tribute to journalists who died while doing their profession.

2018 Theme

The theme for year 2018 is ‘Keeping Power in Check: Media, Justice and The Rule of Law’. It highlights importance of enabling legal environment for press freedom and gives special attention to role of independent judiciary in ensuring legal guarantees for press freedom and prosecution of crimes against journalists. It also addresses role of media in sustainable development, especially during elections as watchdog fostering transparency, accountability and rule of law. It also explore legislative gaps with regard to freedom of expression and information online, and risks of regulating online speech

World Press Freedom Day

World Press Freedom Day was proclaimed by United Nations General Assembly (UNGA) in December 1993, following the recommendation adopted at 26th Session of UNESCO’s General Conference in 1991. This recommendation was a response to a call given by African journalists who in 1991 produced landmark Windhoek Declaration on media pluralism and independence. Since then 3 May, is observed as anniversary of Declaration of Windhoek and is celebrated worldwide as World Press Freedom Day. Observance of day provides opportunity to celebrate fundamental principles of press freedom; defend media from attacks on their independence; assess state of press freedom throughout world and pay tribute to journalists who have lost their lives in line of duty.


Marathi, Bengali films shortlisted for 2015 UNESCO Fellini Medal

Marathi film Katyar Kaljat Ghusali and Bengali film Cinemawala are among the twelve films shortlisted for prestigious 2015 UNESCO Fellini Medal.

Katyar Kaljat Ghusali has been directed by actor-turn director Subodh Bhave, while Kaushik Gangualy has directed Cinemawala.

International Film Festival India (IFFI) 2015 in collaboration with the Paris based International Council for Film, Television and Audiovisual Communication (ICFT) will present a Fellini Medal for first time in India.

The award will be bestowed upon film, which reflects the ideals promoted by United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO).

Other films competing for 2015 edition of Fellinin Medal are: Mina Walking, Among the Believers, The Last Reel, Embrace of the Serpent, Land and Shade, The Pearl Button, Enclave, Wawa no Cidal, Ain and Valiya Chirakulla Pakshikal.

About UNESCO Fellini Medal

UNESCO’s Member States had instituted this prize in 1995 after passing resolution on General Conference for the safeguarding of the cinematographic heritage. The first Fellini medal was unveiled at the Cannes Film Festival in May 1995.

It was instituted after death of Italian film director Federico Fellini in 1993 as an appeal to the international community to participate in a campaign to keep the seventh art alive.