Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre Current Affairs

ISRO to transfer lithium ion cell technology to industries for mass production

ISRO’s rocket sciences arm Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC) has decided to transfer its own in-house lithium ion (Li ion) cell technology to successful Indian industries and start-ups on non-exclusive basis in automobiles for Rs. 1 crore. The initiative aims to accelerate development of indigenous electric vehicle (EV) industry and reduce dependence of imported lithium ion cell technology.

Key Facts

In this regard, VSSC has issued RFQ (request for quotation) inviting multiple qualified companies or start-ups to use its power storage technology to produce range of Li ion cells for many purposes, mainly EVs or electric vehicles. The transfer of ISRO’s technology will help in establishing production facilities in the country that can produce cells of varying size, capacity, energy density and power density catering to entire spectrum of power storage requirements of electric vehicles (EVs).


Presently, lithium-ion battery is the most dominant battery system finding applications for variety of societal needs including handy consumer electronics goods such as mobile phones, laptops, cameras and many other portable consumer gadgets apart from industrial applications and aerospace. Most of the current domestic demand is met by batteries imported from China, South Korea and Taiwan. The Li ion cell production initiative is part of Central Government’s plan to achieve 100% EVs in the country by 2030.

Month: Categories: Science and Technology Current Affairs - 2018


RH300 sounding rocket launched for atmospheric studies

The RH-300 MKII sounding rocket developed by IRSO’s Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC) was successfully launched from Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station in Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala.

Key Facts

The rocket was launched by VSSC under Sounding Rocket Experiment (SOUREX) programme for atmospheric studies. It utilises this rocket to study Equatorial E and lower ionosphere regions of atmosphere. The study will enrich available atmospheric data and refine models used for tropical weather prediction.

The objective of experiment is to measure neutral wind in dynamo region (80-120 km) of equatorial ionosphere using indigenously developed Electron Density and Neutral Wind Probe (ENWi). It will also perform cross-validation using an independent Tri Methyl Aluminium (TMA) release technique.


It was overall 21st launch of RH300 sounding rocket. Atmospheric studies with TMA were done in 1960’s utilizing sounding rockets of foreign countries and first it was launched on May 2, 1965 using Centaure rocket. After a long gap, TMA experiment is being conducted now with indigenously made payload and rocket.

Month: Categories: Science and Technology Current Affairs - 2018