Water Pollution Current Affairs - 2020

Ground Water Act, 2020 approved by UP cabinet

On February 11, 2020, the Uttar Pradesh Cabinet chaired by Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath approved Ground Water Act-2020. The act aims to improve ground water level.

Key Features of the act

The act makes the registration of submersible pumps mandatory. The farmers and domestic users need not pay fees to use the pumps. The act makes rain water harvesting mandatory in all private schools, colleges.

It also penalizes persons polluting ground water through boring pipes. Also, it is mandatory for the boring companies to register under the act. The companies have to update their information every three months.

Ground Water in India

It is essential to monitor the ground water activities in India. This is important because, according to Parliament Committee Report, 2016 around 9 states in India has used 90% of their ground water without leaving a chance of recharging. Also, the increase in presence of metallic elements such as Arsenic, Uranium, Iron is increasing.

National Ganga Mission Begins Conservation of wet lands along the Ganges

The National Mission of Clean Ganga (NMCG) has taken up the initiative under Namami Gange Project to conserve wetlands of the Ganges basin. The primary aim of Namami Gange project is to rejuvenate the river by increasing its flow. It also includes recharging aquifers and conservation of wetlands.


The NMCG along with the State Wetland authorities will identify and prepare plans in conserving wetlands.

Conditions of Wetlands along Ganges

Some of the wetlands are degraded through the drainage, landfill and over exploitation. For instance, the recently closed Sisamau Nala drainage in Kanpur contaminated the underground water and also river ecosystem in the region.

Significance of Wetlands

The wetlands provide nutrient recycling, flood and drought mitigation, surface and groundwater recharge.

Wetland Conservation

Ramsar Convention is an intergovernmental treaty that was established in 1971 by UNESCO. It is a treaty that was signed for the conservation of wetlands. There are 27 Ramsar sited in India.

Steps of India

India differentiates its wetlands into 8 categories based on their regional presence. It includes Deccan Plateau in the south, saline expanses in Rajasthan, Gulf of Kutch and Gujarat, delta wetlands of India’s East Coast, lakes and rivers in mountain regions of Ladakh and Kashmir, marshes and swamps in northeast India and Himalayan foothills and mangroves of Andaman and Nicobar Islands.