West Indies Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

West Indies wins 2016 ICC T-20 Cricket World Cup

West Indies has won the ICC Cricket World Men’s T-20 Cup 2016 by defeating England by 4 wickets in the final match played at Eden Gardens, Kolkata.

In the final match, England batting first had scored 155 runs for 9 wickets. West Indies successfully chased the target by scoring 161 runs in 19.4 over at the loss of 4 wickets.

With this win, West Indies became the only team to win the ICC World Twenty20 title twice. Earlier it had won its first title in 2012 by defeating Sri Lanka.

Captains of the two teams

  • West Indies: Darren Sammy.
  • England: Eoin Morgan.


  • Player of the match: Marlon Samuels (West Indies).
  • Player of the series: Virat Kohli (India).

ICC Cricket World Women’s T-20 Cup 2016

West Indies has won their maiden Women’s World T-20 title by defeating reigning champions Australia by 8 wickets at the Eden Gardens in Kolkata.

Batting first Australia had score of 148 runs for 5 wickets. West Indies in reply scored 149 runs in 19.3 over at the loss of 2 wickets.

Captains of the two teams

  • West Indies: Stafanie Taylor.
  • Australia: Meg Lanning.


  • Player of the match: Hayley Matthews (West Indies).
  • Player of the series: Stafanie Taylor (West Indies).

Month: Categories: Sports


West Indies wins ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup 2016

West Indies for the first time has won the ICC U-19 Cricket World Cup by defeating three time champions India by five wickets played at Mirpur (Bangladesh).

In the final match West Indies team achieved the target of 146 runs set by India in in 49.3 overs. Earlier in the first inning, Indian team was bowled out for 145 in 45.1 overs.

  • Man of the match: Keacy Carty (West Indies)
  • Player of the tournament: Mehidy Hasan Miraz (Bangladesh)

ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2016

  • This was the 11th edition of the tournament and overall 17th edition of international U-19 cricketing teams participated.
  • It was held in Bangladesh. Indian side was captained by Ishan Kishan.
  • Top five cricket teams in the Under-19 cricket world cup: West Indies, India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Pakistan.
  • It was fifth time India was playing in the Under-19 World Cup final. West Indies was appearing for the second time in the final match.

Month: Categories: Sports