Women Entrepreneurship Platform Current Affairs - 2019

Category Wise PDF Compilations available at This Link

NITI Aayog launches 4th edition of Women Transforming India Awards

NITI Aayog launched fourth edition of Women Transforming India (WTI) Awards. Nominations for the awards will be opened immediately after the launch. The theme for this year’s award is ‘Women and Entrepreneurship’, in continuation of the theme for WTI Awards 2018. WhatsApp has collaborated with NITI Aayog for WTI Awards 2019 and will be providing support amounting to US $100,000 to award winners. Nominations for the awards will be opened immediately after the launch

About Women Transforming India (WTI) Award

It is being organized annually by NITI Aayog in collaboration with United Nations to recognize women entrepreneurs from across India. It has been launched under Women Entrepreneurship Platform (WEP). It aims to recognise and celebrate stories of exemplary women from all over India.

Women Entrepreneurship Platform (WEP)

It is initiative of NITI Aayog to promote and support aspiring as well as established women entrepreneurs in India. It aims to assist and handhold these women entrepreneurs in their journey from starting to scaling up and expanding their ventures.


(i) To transform the entrepreneurial ecosystem for women entrepreneurs in the country.

(ii) To become one-stop resource centre for Indian women entrepreneurs.

(iii) Provide single platform for meeting and working in collaboration for various stakeholders in the entrepreneurial space.

Partner Organisations of WEP: It has more than 5,000 women entrepreneurs registered on its platform, more than 30 partners and, has committed funding of more than US$10mn for these startups. Google, UN India Business Forum, SIDBI, NIC, NASSCOM, CRISIL, WEE Foundation, SEWA bank, MannDeshi Foundation etc. are the partners.

3rd Edition of Women Transforming India Awards to be Organized by NITI Aayog

Third edition of Women Transforming India Awards to be organized by Government think- tank NITI Aayog on 16th December.  On this occasion NITI Aayog will also launch the upgraded portal of Women Entrepreneurship Platform. Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu will present the awards to the women. The theme for this year awards is – ‘Women and Entrepreneurship’ and 15 winners have been selected.

Women Transforming India Awards

The awards were launched in 2016 to recognize the exceptional women who are working hard and making difference in lives of others. It invites the stories of women entrepreneurs from the country, who are doing innovative work to address the key development challenges and impacting the communities.

The nominations of the awards were opened on the launch of Women Entrepreneurship Platform in March this year. The event will include panel discussions consists of entrepreneurs, investors, and experts.

NITI Aayog

National Institution for Transforming India was launched on 1st January 2015 to achieve Sustainable Development Goals and enhance cooperative federalism by increasing involvement of states in the policy making process. The initiative consists of 5 years road map plan and 7 years vision, strategy and action plan.  NITI Aayog replaced the 65 years old Planning Commission of India.

Functions of NITI Aayog
  • To enhance the involvement of States in decision making process by fostering cooperative federalism.
  • To promote innovation, knowledge and entrepreneurial support system through a collaborative community of national and international experts.
  • Incorporating National security in economic strategy and policy.
  • To maintain state-of-the-art resource center for best practices in sustainable and equitable development and promote good governance.
  • Formulate the strategies at village level and integrate these at higher levels of government.
  • To work towards the technology up-gradation for implementation of policies.
  • The design framework for strategic and long-term policies and monitor their progress.
Board of NITI Aayog

The board consists of a Chairperson, Vice Chairperson, Ex-Officio members, Chief Executive Officer, Special Invitees, Full time members and Governing Council.

Chairperson – The Prime Minister of India

Vice Chairperson – Rajiv Kumar

Chief Executive Officer – Amitabh Kant

Governing Council – All Chief minister of Stated and LG of Andaman & Nicobar Islands and Special Invitees.