Women Football Current Affairs - 2020

India to host AFC Women’s Cup

On June 5, 2020, the Asian Football Confederation confirmed that India will host 2022 Women’s Asian Cup. This is the first time India is hosting the cup since 1979.


The Asian Football Confederation handed over the hosting rights to the All India Football Federation. The tournament is to be held in 2022 and around 12 teams are to participate in the tournament.

The Indian team has twice finished as runners in 1980 and 1983 and won bronze in 1981.

Asian Football Confederation

The AFC (Asian Football Confederation) is one of the 6 continental confederations. There are 47 member countries that are part of the AFC. It was officially formed in 1954. The headquarters of the confederation is located in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

All India Football Federation

The AIFF was formed in 1923. The AIFF was one of the founding members of AFC. The AIFF conducts several tournaments namely I-League, Indian Super League and Super Cup.

FIFA Women’s World Cup: U.S.A beats Netherlands

The United States of America (USA) won FIFA Women’s World Cup 2019 title after beating Netherlands in final at Lyon, France. US won with 2-0 goals scored by from Megan Rapinoe penalty and Rose Lavelle.

Key Highlights

US retained the women’s World Cup title with help of penalty scored by Megan Rapinoe and strike by Rose Lavelle that gave holders a 2-0 victory.

The victory underlines USA’s status as dominant force in international women’s football as they claim World Cup title for 4th time (earlier 1991, 1999 and 2015) in 8 editions.

US were already the 1st team to appear in 3 consecutive finals. Also Coach Jill Ellis becomes 1st coach to win back-to-back World Cups in men’s or women’s game since Italy’s Vittorio Pozzo in 1930s.

USA was the only non-European team to make it to quarter-finals in France.

Megan Rapinoe: She won the Golden Boot after finishing with 6 goals and 3 assists, and she also took Golden Ball award for best player of tournament.