World Heritage Sites Current Affairs

Rio de Janeiro accorded UNESCO world heritage status  

The UN cultural body UNESCO has accorded world heritage status to Brazilian city of Rio de Janeiro (nicknamed as Marvelous City).  It has been registered as “Carioca Landscapes between Mountain and Sea” on the UNESCO world heritage list.

Rio de Janeiro has been accorded this status in recognition of its extraordinary fusion of man-made and natural beauty, soaring granite cliffs, urban rainforest and beaches. It also had hosted 2014 football World Cup and 2016 Summer Olympics.


The UNESCO status to Rio de Janeiro was announced in 2012. It became official after the Brazilian authorities were given four years to report on their plans for protecting Sugarloaf Mountain, Flamengo Park,  Corcovado, Copacabana beach, Botanical Garden and Tijuca forest.

About UNESCO World Heritage Sites

The UNESCO World Heritage Sites are sites having special cultural or physical significance. The list is maintained by international World Heritage Programme administered by the UNESCO World Heritage Committee. The committee comprises of 21 UNESCO member states which are elected by the General Assembly. Each World Heritage Site included in the list remains part of the legal territory of the state where it is located. But inclusion of sites in the list by UNESCO is in the interest of the international community to preserve each site. Presently, Italy with 50 sites is home to the greatest number of World Heritage Sites.


UNESCO lists Swiss-French architect Le Corbusier’s works among World Heritage Sites

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) has listed Swiss-French architect Le Corbusier’s works among its World Heritage Sites list.

In this regard, announcement was at the 40th session of the World Heritage Committee (WHC) of UNESCO held in Istanbul in Turkey.

Le Corbusier works were added in the list in recognition of his contribution in spearheading the modern architectural movement after World War I, with an emphasis on functionality, bold lines and materials such as concrete, iron and glass.

His 17 sites across spread across seven countries France, Switzerland, Belgium, Germany, Argentina, Japan and India have been added in the World Heritage Sites list.

About Le Corbusier

  • Born on October 6, 1887. Died on August 27, 1965.
  • He was Swiss-French architect, urban planner, designer, painter, writer, and one of the pioneers of what is now called modern architecture.
  • His architectural career spanned five decades, with his buildings constructed throughout Europe, India, and the Americas.
  • Famous Works: Some of his architectural masterpieces included in the World Heritage Sites list are La Cite Radieuse housing project in Marseille, Dominican monastery of La Tourette near Lyon and La Villa Savoye near Paris.
  • Corbusier also had prepared the master plan for the city of Chandigarh in India and contributed specific designs for several buildings including Chandigarh’s Capitol Complex.