Telangana to have separate High Court from 1st January 2019

Separate High Courts will start functioning for the states of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh from 1st January 2019. The High Court for Telangana is the 25th High Court in the country.

Telangana was carved out of Andra Pradesh in 2014 and the two states continued to have a common high court in Hyderabad.

Separate High Courts

The modalities of the separate high courts are:

  • The High Court for Telangana will function from the current High Court building in Hyderabad.
  • The High Court for Andhra Pradesh will start functioning from a temporary building at Amaravati until it gets a permanent structure.
  • 16 judges have been allocated to Andhra Pradesh High Court and ten have been allocated to Telangana High Court.
  • Justice TBN Radhakrishnan will be sworn-in as Chief Justice of the Telangana High Court.

The government of Andhra Pradesh is constructing a complex known as Justice City in Amaravati where the High Court, subordinate courts and some tribunals would be accommodated.



Categories: States




  • gauravdeep bhardwaj

    as per notification,12 judges have been allotted to TELANGNA state. ( source – the statesman )

    • Nikhil Paigude

      Will recheck. Most newspapers have reported 10 judges for Telangana state.