UK Elects its First Female Sikh and First Turban Wearing Sikh as MPs

In a first Preet Kaur Gill has become the first Sikh to be elected to the British Parliament’s House of Commons. Similarly, Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi has become the first turban-wearing Sikh to be elected to the House of Commons.

In a first, the House of Commons will have a record 12 Indian-origin MPs, which will be two more than the present record of 10 (five each from Labour and Conservative).

The victories of Preet kaur Gill and Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi is considered as a significant milestone for Sikh politicians in United Kingdom in this election. Dhesi and Gill are from the opposition Labour party. While Dhesi has won from the Slough constituency and Gill has won from Birmingham Edgbaston.

Other Indian-Origin Winners

Alok Sharma, who is minister for Asia has retained his Reading West seat. Goa-origin Suella Fernandes (Conservative) and Virendra Sharma have retained their her seats comfortably. Lisa Nandy (Labour) and Seema Malhotra (Labour) have retained their Wigan seat Feltham and Heston seats respectively.



Categories: Persons in News



Video from Our Channel