Union Cabinet gives nod to BIMSTEC Convention on Mutual Legal Assistance in Criminal Matters

The Union Cabinet has given its approval for signing and ratification of the Bay of Bengal Initiative on Multi Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation (BIMSTEC) Convention on Mutual Legal Assistance in Criminal Matters.

The Union Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) has been designated as the Central Authority under Article 15 of the Convention.

Key facts

  • The BIMSTEC Convention aims to extend widest measures of assistance among 7 member countries through mutual cooperation.
  • It seeks to enhance capability and effectiveness of the member states in investigation and prosecution of crimes, including crimes related to transnational organized crime, terrorism, money laundering, drug trafficking and cyber-crimes.
  • It will pave way for establishment of regional arrangements for mutual assistance in criminal matters.
  • It will greatly contribute for the effective cooperation in the control of criminal activities among the member countries.


  • BIMSTEC (Bay of Bengal Initiative on Multi Sectoral Technical and Economic Cooperation) is the sub-regional group of seven countries in South Asia and South East Asia.
  • They are India, Nepal, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Sri Lanka (from South Asia) and Myanmar, Thailand (from South East Asia).
  • Established: 6 June 1997.
  • Headquarters: Dhaka, Bangladesh.
  • Objectives: Technological and economical cooperation among south Asian and south East Asian countries along the coast of the Bay of Bengal.
  • It also covers cooperation in commerce, technology, investment, agriculture, tourism, human resource development, fisheries, transport and communication, textiles, leather etc.



Categories: Governance & Politics



Video from Our Channel